The Chapel of St. Peter is the symbol of the Municipality of Laives/Leifers, and is also depicted in the town’s coat of arms. Located on a hill above Laives, it dates back to the 12th century. It was originally intended as the chapel for Castle Lichtenstein. Only a few ruins of the ancient castle remain next to the church. The castle was part of a fortress built in 1160 and destroyed in 1290. Today, the chapel can only be visited from the outside. Inside, only the altar remains with its altar stone.